Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Doll Foto

MA Larissa Doll

PhD Student
A3
Group: Prof. Wagenknecht
Room: CS/ B 30.42/ R 205
Phone: 47212
larissa dollJnp8∂kit edu


AK Wagenknecht
Inst. f. Organische Chemie
Fritz-Haber-Weg 6
Campus Süd
Geb. 30.42
D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49 721 608-42860
Fax: +49 721 608-44825



Development of fluorescent siRNA probes for live cell imaging

Larissa Project
Development of fluorescent siRNA probes for live cell imaging
Project Group:

Project area A, project A3

Links:
Startdate:

March 2017

New therapeutic options for targeted cancer treatment at source and thereby reducing or better avoiding side-effects are of extraordinary importance. One method for this is to take the advantage of a gene regulation mechanism of our body, the so called RNA interference.

In this pathway, a short, double stranded RNA (siRNA) is unwound into two single stranded RNAs by an enzyme complex (RISC). One single stranded RNA (sense strand) is removed, while the other one (antisense strand) remains associated. The antisense strand hybridizes with the complementary target mRNA (e.g. oncogene) which is afterwards degraded by an enzyme component (Argonaut) of the RISC. As a result, the encoded proteins can not be expressed anymore.

This mechanism as well as the uptake and degradation of the single stranded RNA inside the cell have to be investigated in detail before developing effective drugs. Therefore, we modify double stranded RNA with a fluorescent dye pair, which undergo an energy transfer. Upon excitation of the donor dye (green) the energy is transferred to the acceptor dye (red) resulting in a fluorescent colour change. Hence, it is possible to track the mechanism and to determine the location inside the cell.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
Doll Foto

MA Larissa Doll

Doctoral researcher
A3
Gruppe: Prof. Wagenknecht
Raum: CS/ B 30.42/ R 205
Tel.: 47212
larissa dollPtb8∂kit edu


AK Wagenknecht
Inst. f. Organische Chemie
Fritz-Haber-Weg 6
Campus Süd
Geb. 30.42
D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49 721 608-42860
Fax: +49 721 608-44825



Entwicklung fluoreszenter siRNA Proben für die Bildgebung in lebenden Zellen

Larissa Project
Entwicklung fluoreszenter siRNA Proben für die Bildgebung in lebenden Zellen
Projektgruppe:

Project area A, project A3

Links:
Starttermin:

März 2017

Neue Therapiemöglichkeiten, um Krebs gezielt am Ursprung zu heilen und dadurch Nebenwirkungen zu verringern oder besser noch zu vermeiden, sind von höchster Wichtigkeit. Eine Methode dafür ist die Ausnutzung eines Genregulierungsmechanismus unseres Körpers, der sogenannten RNA Interferenz.

Dabei bindet ein Enzymkomplex (RISC) an eine kurze doppelsträngige RNA, windet diese auf und schleust einen Einzelstrang (sense-strand) aus dem Komplex aus. Die komplementäre Ziel-mRNA (z.B. Onkogen) bindet an den (antisense) Strang im RISC-Komplex, worauf ein Enzym das Ziel‑Gen an einer bestimmten Stelle schneidet und die darauf codierten Proteine nicht mehr exprimiert werden können.

Dieser Mechanismus sowie die Aufnahme bzw. der Abbau des RNA-Einzelstranges in die Zelle muss zunächst genau untersucht werden, um anschließend wirksame Medikamente herstellen zu können. Deshalb modifizieren wir die doppelsträngige RNA mit einem Farbstoff-Paar, welches einen Energietransfer eingeht. Wird ein Farbstoff (grün) mit Licht angeregt, überträgt er die Energie auf den zweiten Farbstoff (rot) und es ist ein Farbwechsel beobachtbar. Damit kann der Mechanismus verfolgt und der genaue Ort innerhalb der Zelle bestimmt werden.